Explored

“I used to find this place really oppressive, so I left the valley. Recently I returned and now my view has completely changed: at last, I can see the beauty of these heavenly (there’s no other word) surroundings. I hardly ski any more, but every day I get up with infinite gratitude for this scenery. There is an environmental awareness here – the Chamoniards have a deep love for their valley  and they enjoy it to the full through their commitment to sport. Tourists love it too. As if through the eyes of children, they see it as a miraculous treasure trove.  There really are a variety of ways of enjoying the valley. Personally, I’m all for being amazed on a daily basis; walking, raising my eyes and looking. Art is like nature: it’s the looking that’s miraculous. ”

Anaka,
artist

Explored

Anaka settled in Servoz, where she still has her workshop, in 1988. Her art takes the form of reverse painting on Plexiglass. The mixing of words and colour is startling, as if rivalling the huge mountains that inspire them.  Inevitably, she has a sharpened view of the mountains.

Fill up with colour:

http://anaka.org/

Anaka,
artist

Explored

“Teresa Kaufman organises photo walks during which she shows people how to open up their eyes. She visits private vegetable gardens and artists’ workshops, as well as walking up small lanes where you may suddenly find yourself eye-to-eye with cows bred for combat, but are in fact enormous, placid beasts. “

Anaka,
artist

Explorée

Avant je trouvais l’endroit très pesant, donc j’ai quitté la vallée puis récemment j’y suis revenue. Entre temps ma vision avait totalement changé : je vois enfin la beauté de ce cadre paradisiaque, il n’y a pas d’autre mot. Je ne skie quasiment plus mais je me lève chaque matin avec une gratitude infinie pour ces paysages. Il y a une conscience écologiste ici, les chamoniards aiment leur vallée d’un amour profond. Ils en jouissent pleinement au travers de leur engagement sportif. Les touristes l’aiment aussi, la vallée est un bijou miraculeux dans leurs yeux d’enfants. Il y a vraiment plusieurs manières d’apprécier la vallée. Moi je suis pour l’émerveillement quotidien ; marcher, lever la tête, et regarder. En art comme en nature, ce qui est miraculeux, c’est le regard.

Anaka,
Artiste plasticienne

Explorée

Arrivée en 1988 à Servoz où se dresse encore son atelier, Anaka travaille une forme de peinture à l’envers sur plexiglas. Les mélanges de textes et de couleur éblouissent, comme pour rivaliser avec l’immense montagne qui les inspire. Forcément son regard sur la montagne est acéré.

Faites le plein de couleur :

http://anaka.org/

Anaka,
Artiste plasticienne

Explorée

Teresa Kaufman fait des parcours photos où elle apprend aux gens à ouvrir leur regard. Elle visite des potagers privés, des ateliers d’artistes, monter de petits chemins où l’on se retrouve soudain face aux vaches de combat, énormes monstres paisibles.

Anaka,
Artiste plasticienne