Discovered

“I was born in Lyon, in La Croix-Rousse, but my best family memories have always been in Chamonix.

Culture in Chamonix is above all a literary culture. It has to be said that mountains trigger writing; many authors have found inspiration walking on the paths of the Valley. For me, however, there was no musical culture.

When I was given the go-ahead to start the Cosmo-Jazz festival and hold it in the heart of the mountains, I was a little anxious. Mountains are sacred and the challenge was to find music that was appropriate and that worked well. There are inspiring vibes here and musicians are not immune to this.

We needed something powerful and lyrical, with wind instruments. It had to work on a spiritual level. That’s why I chose Ethno-jazz. “

André Manoukian,
FESTIVAL COSMO-JAZZ

Discovered

André Manoukian left his Parisian life to settle in the Chamonix Valley, where he had already spent time as a child with his parents. Since then, he’s done everything he can to develop cultural activities -  especially music -  in the Valley.

The Cosmo-Jazz Festival:

http://cosmojazzfestival.com/

André Manoukian,
FESTIVAL COSMO-JAZZ

Discovered

“When you get off the Brévent cable car, you can take a small path towards Planpraz. There’s a path there called the balcon sud and it has the most beautiful views you can imagine. “

André Manoukian,
FESTIVAL COSMO-JAZZ

Découverte

Je suis né à Lyon, à la Croix-Rousse, mais Chamonix ce sont mes plus beaux souvenirs de famille.

La culture à Chamonix, elle est littéraire avant tout. Il faut dire que la montagne provoque l’écriture, de nombreux auteurs ont trouvé l’inspiration sur les sentiers de la vallée. Par contre, il n’y avait pas de culture musicale pour moi.

Quand on m’a donné l’autorisation de créer le Cosmo-Jazz et de faire ce festival au cœur des montagnes, j’étais un peu impressionné. La montagne est sacrée, tout l’enjeu était de trouver une musique adaptée à elle, qui fonctionne bien. Il y a des vibrations inspirantes ici et les musiciens n’en sortent pas indemnes.

Il fallait quelque chose de puissant, de lyrique, avec des instruments à vent et spirituellement ça devait se tenir. C’est pour ça que j’ai choisi de l’Ethno-jazz.

André Manoukian,
FESTIVAL COSMO-JAZZ

Découverte

André Manoukian a quitté sa vie parisienne pour s’installer dans la Vallée de Chamonix où il passait déjà du temps enfant avec ses parents. Depuis il fait tout son possible pour développer les activités culturelles et notamment musicales dans la vallée.

Le festival Cosmo-Jazz:

http://cosmojazzfestival.com/

André Manoukian,
FESTIVAL COSMO-JAZZ

Découverte

Quand on part du téléphérique du Brévent, on peut prendre un petit chemin pour aller vers Planpraz. Là, il y a un chemin qui s’appelle le balcon sud, la vue est la plus belle qui soit.

André Manoukian,
FESTIVAL COSMO-JAZZ