Discovered

“When the park opened in 1968, this kind of immersion with uncaged animals was innovative. I consider myself to be really fortunate to have inherited such a wonderful place. This also means that I feel a responsibility towards preserving not only this particular corner of paradise, but also, via the park, the entire valley. This is because beyond the fenced-off area you can see here, it’s the whole valley we’re showing visitors. It’s a sort of showcase for people who are setting off for the mountains or a hut: learning how to respect animals, not to get too close or leave the footpath, realising that dogs should not be taken and must always be tied up at mountain huts. It’s the small details that enable visitors to understand the spirit of the mountains. Last but not least, it’s a way of learning about the environment, in order to better appreciate it and protect it. ”

Claire Cachat,
animal park manager

Discovered

Following on from her parents, Claire Cachat has been at the helm of Merlet animal park since 2003. The park is an outstanding natural heritage site, wonderfully preserved and open to the public. Walking through the park is like being offered the mountain as a gift. Are you ready to like it?

Claire Cachat,
animal park manager

Discovered

“I am personally committed to agriculture: we are the last resistance fighters in the Valley. It’s quite an experience seeing the Vaches d’Hérens combat cows and the “Combats de Reines”. It’s steeped in tradition. The Ferme de Montroc in Balmes is great and their tomme cheese is excellent! ”

Take a different look at the mountains:

www.parcdemerlet.com

Claire Cachat,
animal park manager

Découverte

Quand le parc a ouvert en 1968 c’était novateur ce système d’immersion avec les animaux en liberté. Je me sens comme privilégiée d’avoir hérité d’un tel trésor. Du coup j’ai l’impression d’avoir une responsabilité, de devoir conserver ce petit coin de paradis, mais aussi toute la vallée à travers lui. Parce qu’au-delà de l’espace délimité qu’on peut voir ici, c’est la vallée entière qu’on montre. C’est une sorte de vitrine pour ceux qui vont ensuite monter en montagne ou en refuge : apprendre à respecter les animaux, ne pas s’avancer trop près ni quitter les chemins, interdire les chiens parce qu’en refuge on les attache… Ce sont des petits détails qui permettent aux visiteurs de comprendre l’esprit. Finalement, c’est une éducation à l’environnement pour mieux l’aimer et le protéger.

Claire Cachat,
gérante de parc animalier

Découverte

A la suite de ses parents, Claire Cachat gère depuis 2003 le parc animalier de Merlet, un exceptionnel morceau de patrimoine naturel préservé et ouvert au public. S’y promener, c’est recevoir la montagne en cadeau. Prêts à aimer ?

Claire Cachat,
gérante de parc animalier

Découverte

Je suis personnellement engagée pour l’agriculture car on est les derniers résistants de la vallée. Il faut voir les vaches d’Hérens, les combats de reines, c’est riche de tradition. La ferme de Montroc à Balme est super, et la tomme y est excellente !

Redécouvrez la montagne à nue :
www.parcdemerlet.com

Claire Cachat,
gérante de parc animalier