Looked

“I make my knives with locally-sourced wood; ash and walnut, but also Arolla pine, which only I use. These are quite rare pine trees that grow at altitudes of between 2000 and 2500 m in the heart of the massif. The first one I brought back came from the Mer de Glace and then others followed from the Vallon de Bérard, above Vallorcine. I go to fetch the wood myself, on foot, without any means of transport. It took us three days to bring the last one down from Montenvert. Chamonix really is a sports-orientated valley. People here ski, snowboard, hike and paraglide… It’s unusual to find someone here who doesn’t do any sport – most of us enjoy several different activities. And that’s typical of the valley. 

Didier Simond,
Knife maker & ski instructor

Looked

Ski instructor and former joiner, Didier Simond has invented the Chamoniard, a knife in the shape of Mont Blanc and with the route of the first ascent engraved on the handle. An object that is firmly rooted in the valley in more ways than one.

Feel Mont Blanc under your fingers:

http://lechamoniard.com

Didier Simond,
Knife maker & ski instructor

Looked

“The last remaining farmers in the valley breed Vaches d’Hérens, fighting cows that can be admired during the Combats de Reines. René Ravanel at Les Grassonnets is well-known locally, and it’s worth going to take a look… “

Didier Simond,
Knife maker & ski instructor

Pratiquée

Je fais mes couteaux avec les bois de la région : du frêne, du noyer et de l’arolle, une essence que je suis seul à utiliser. Ce sont des pins assez rares qui poussent entre 2000 et 2500m au cœur du massif. Le premier que j’ai ramené venait de la mer de glace, d’autres du vallon de Bérard au-dessus de Vallorcine. Ces bois, je vais les chercher moi-même sans aucun moyen de locomotion, en randonnée. Le dernier, on a mis trois jours à le ramener du domaine du Montenvers. Il faut dire que Chamonix est vraiment une vallée sportive. Les gens ici font du ski, du surf, de la marche, du parapente… C’est rare de trouver quelqu’un qui ne fait aucune activité, on en fait tous une ou deux à la fois. Et ça c’est typique de la vallée.

Didier Simond,
coutelier & moniteur de ski

Pratiquée

Moniteur de ski et ancien menuisier, Didier Simond est l’inventeur du Chamoniard, un couteau ayant la forme du mont Blanc et la première ascension pyrogravée sur son manche. Un objet enraciné dans la vallée à plus d’un titre.

Parcourez le mont Blanc sous votre pouce :
http://lechamoniard.com

Didier Simond,
coutelier & moniteur de ski

Pratiquée

Les derniers agriculteurs de la vallée ont des vaches d’Hérens, une race qui fait ce qu’on appelle les combats de reines. René Ravanel qui est sur les Grassonnets est une figure du coin, cela mérite le détour…

Didier Simond,
coutelier & moniteur de ski