Practiced

“I’m really settled in Chamonix, even though I wasn’t born here. I moved here from Paris, seeking a new quality of life and things have turned out pretty well.

What’s quite extraordinary is that I’m not a great skier or mountain lover. I don’t go climbing or do any extreme sports, but the natural surroundings are here and that’s what I like.

There’s always something to do in Chamonix. In my work as an architect, I meet a vast array of people. We work on both high-end projects and more atypical plans – the Valley has a diverse heritage and that’s obviously very interesting.

In Chamonix, everyone feels responsible for the environment.  My husband and I have chosen to live in the town and we hardly ever use our car as there’s plenty of public transport. In the end, it’s like a small village with a family feel to it. For example, there’s an association called Boutch à Boutch that introduces landowners to apprentice gardeners, so that they can grow things together. It’s all about sharing.”

Emmanuelle Guerard,
Architect, Decalaage Architecture

Practiced

A graduate from a Paris School of architecture, Emmanuelle has been living and working in Chamonix since 2007. Her work integrates an ecological approach, combining respect for tradition and a more contemporary spirit.

Take a look at the projects of Ateliers Decalaage Architecture:

http://www.decalaage.com/

Emmanuelle Guerard,
Architect, Decalaage Architecture

Practiced

“Vallorcine is my garden. I sometimes spend Wednesday afternoons at the Hôtel du Buet with my children. We get away from the imposing aspect of the mountains, to seek out a gentler side. “

Emmanuelle Guerard,
Architect, Decalaage Architecture

Pratiquée

Je suis bien ancrée à Chamonix même si je n’y suis pas née. Je me suis installée ici après avoir déménagé de Paris pour trouver une nouvelle qualité de vie, et c’est plutôt réussi.

C’est assez extraordinaire, je ne suis ni une grande skieuse ni une amoureuse de la montagne, je ne fais pas d’escalade ni de sports extrêmes mais la nature, elle est là, et c’est ça que j’aime.

Il y a toujours quelque chose à faire à Chamonix. Dans mon travail d’architecte, je rencontre énormément de personnalités. On met en oeuvre à la fois des projets très luxueux ou des choses plus atypiques, la vallée a un patrimoine diversifié et c’est forcément intéressant.

A Chamonix, tout le monde se sent responsable de l’environnement ; avec mon mari nous avons choisi d’habiter en ville, on ne prends pratiquement jamais la voiture, il y a beaucoup de transports. C’est un petit village au final avec son côté familial. Par exemple il y a cette association Boutch à Boutch qui met en relation des propriétaires de terrain et des apprentis jardiniers afin qu’ils cultivent ensemble. C’est du partage.

Emmanuelle Guerard,
Architecte, Decalaage Architecture

Pratiquée

Architecte diplômée d’une école d’architecture parisienne, Emmanuelle travaille et s’est installée à Chamonix depuis 2007, son activité s’inscrit dans une démarche écologique qui allie respect des traditions et esprit contemporain.

Découvrez les projets des Ateliers Decalaage Architecture:

http://www.decalaage.com/

Emmanuelle Guerard,
Architecte, Decalaage Architecture

Pratiquée

Vallorcine, c’est mon jardin. Parfois je passe le mercredi après-midi à l’hôtel du Buet avec les enfants, on s’éloigne vraiment du côté imposant de la montagne pour aller vers plus de douceur.

Emmanuelle Guerard,
Architecte, Decalaage Architecture