Savored

“I live in Servoz and what I like here is that we’re much less confined by the mountains. Don’t forget that it’s 200 m lower than Chamonix here. The valley is much more open and even has its own microclimate. Spring comes sooner and winter’s not so early. That’s really nice.

Personally, I don’t really like mountains that are too rough, too glacial and austere. Servoz is a mountain village, but it doesn’t have that sheer, abrupt feel. That’s why I chose this village to set up my hotel and restaurant.

Here, we go for short supply chains, buying local cheeses – the speciality in the restaurant is ravioli made with fresh goat’s cheese. “

Marc Serres,
AUBERGE DES GORGES DE LA DIOSAZ

Savored

Having worked as a chef at the Auberge du Bois Prin and run a restaurant in Chamonix, Marc Serres now owns the Auberge des Gorges de la Diosaz in Servoz. The restaurant was recently given a Maître-Restaurateur award.

Auberge des Gorges de la Diosaz:

http://www.hoteldesgorges.com/

Marc Serres,
AUBERGE DES GORGES DE LA DIOSAZ

Savored

“The Gorges de la Diosaz is a secret place that ought to be better known. It’s a listed natural site that’s open from June to September, where there’s a “zen” feeling of calm. I often go there to relax.  “

Marc Serres,
AUBERGE DES GORGES DE LA DIOSAZ

Savourée

J’habite à Servoz et ce que j’aime ici c’est que l’on est beaucoup moins encerclé par la montagne. On perd quand même 200 mètres d’altitude entre Chamonix et ici. La vallée est beaucoup plus ouverte et on possède même un micro-climat. Le printemps arrive plus vite et l’hiver moins tôt. C’est très agréable.

Personnellement, je n’apprécie pas vraiment la montagne brute, trop glaciale, trop austère. Servoz c’est un village de montagne mais qui n’a pas ce côté cassant, abrupt. C’est pour ça que j’ai installé mon hôtel-restaurant dans ce village.

Ici on respecte les circuits courts, on achète des fromages locaux, et la spécialité de la maison c’est la raviole de chèvre frais.

Marc Serres,
AUBERGE DES GORGES DE LA DIOSAZ

Savourée

Après avoir travaillé comme Chef à l’Auberge du Bois Prin et été restaurateur à Chamonix, Marc Serres possède à présent l’Auberge des Gorges de la Diosaz à Servoz. L’établissement s’est vu récemment récompensé par le Titre Maître-Restaurateur.

Auberge des Gorges de la Diosaz:

http://www.hoteldesgorges.com/

Marc Serres,
AUBERGE DES GORGES DE LA DIOSAZ

Savourée

C’est un petit coin secret mais ça ne devrait pas l’être, c’est le site naturel classé des Gorges de la Diosaz qui se visite de juin à septembre. C’est un endroit empreint d’un calme et d’une « zénitude », je m’y détends très souvent.

Marc Serres,
AUBERGE DES GORGES DE LA DIOSAZ