Discovered

“The notion of sustainability currently driving the Valley is reflected in my craft. Firstly in the impact of my production, where everything is controlled and I only use the quantities strictly necessary, in order to reduce waste. Secondly as regards quality, as I make sturdy skis that are designed to be used season after season, rather than skis for short-term use. And finally as regards use of the object, as I make skis to be enjoyed for both their performance and beauty, and for the pleasure to be had from using them. These are objects that you are happy to own and look after. Knowing that an ash tree from the Valley has been cut down and brought here, and that I have sawn, dried and flexed it myself in this old workshop – all this means that the final object, the ski, has greater sentimental value.  ”

Peter Seltzner,
Manufacturer of wood skis

Discovered

Originally from California, Peter Seltzner has been working in France for 25 years. Using a steam press repainted to look like in a Nepalese truck and a circular turbine driven by water from the river, he has revived the craft of traditional ski making.

Discover the modern use of wood:

www.rabbitontheroof.net

Peter Seltzner,
Manufacturer of wood skis

Discovered

“It’s something of a mountain climbing Mecca here and mountain guides have the really important job of introducing their client to the mountains and passing on their enthusiasm. Getting off the beaten track and away from the cable cars with a guide can be an outstanding experience. “

Peter Seltzner,
Manufacturer of wood skis

Découverte

La notion de durabilité qui anime la vallée aujourd’hui trouve des échos dans mon artisanat. D’abord pour l’impact de la fabrication où tout est contrôlé, je n’utilise que les quantités nécessaires pour limiter les déchets. Ensuite dans l’aspect qualité, puisque je fabrique des skis solides faits pour servir saison après saison, pas des skis jetables. Enfin dans l’usage de l’objet, car je fais des skis autant pour leurs performances et le plaisir qu’on va avoir à les utiliser, que pour leur beauté ; ce sont des objets qu’on est heureux de posséder, d’entretenir. Savoir qu’un frêne de la vallée a été abattu, qu’on me l’amène, que je le scie, le sèche et le cintre ici même, dans ce vieil atelier, tout cela fait l’objet final, ce ski gagne en valeur affective.

Peter Seltzner,
Fabriquant de skis en bois

Découverte

Californien d’origine, Peter Seltzner officie en France depuis 25 ans. Entre une presse à vapeur repeinte comme un camion népalais et une turbine séculaire alimentée par la rivière, il ravive l’artisanat d’un ski traditionnel.

Redécouvrez la modernité du bois :

www.rabbitontheroof.net

Peter Seltzner,
Fabriquant de skis en bois

Découverte

Nous sommes un peu à la Mecque de l’alpinisme ici, et les guides tiennent ce rôle très important de faire connaître la montagne et transmettre sa passion. Sortir des sentiers battus que sont les pistes et les téléphériques avec un guide peut s’avérer exceptionnel.

Peter Seltzner,
Fabriquant de skis en bois