Discovered

“I’m producing the same style of bell that was made when the company opened in 1829 and with the same skills that have been handed down for 6 generations. So I carry a certain responsibility, that’s for sure. Responsibility towards all the farmers that count on me, as well as towards the Valley, which I represent in a way. The only changes I’ve made have been to preserve the environment. I’ve replaced my oil-fired furnace with an electric one, which is ten times more energy efficient. For polishing, I use pebbles and water collected from my roof. In fact, I now use just one chemical for protecting the steel when it goes into the furnace, and I want to get rid of that too. I’m going to create a mix of onion, urine and tallow like they did in the old days and then I will have 100% ecological bells! “

Thomas Devouassoud,
Bell maker

Discovered

The Devouassouds have been making bells from father to son for 180 years. These cast-iron bells enable shepherds and cowherds to unmistakably recognise their animals from afar. Here we forge the links of tradition.

Let’s hear it for tradition:

www.sonnettesdevouassoud.com

Thomas Devouassoud,
Bell maker

Discovered

“Personally, I don’t really go out into the mountains. Short walks are enough for me. But I must admit, this valley is really magnificent! Le Brévent is not to be missed. Nor are Les Drus, as I really like them. “

Thomas Devouassoud,
Bell maker

Découverte

Aujourd’hui je fabrique le même modèle de sonnettes qu’à l’ouverture en 1829, avec le même savoir faire depuis six générations. Alors c’est sûr, j’ai une responsabilité sur les épaules. Envers tous les éleveurs qui comptent sur moi d’une part, et puis je représente la vallée en quelque sorte. Mes seuls changements sont pour préserver l’environnement. J’ai remplacé mon four à fioul par un électrique qui consomme dix fois moins. Pour le polissage, j’utilise des cailloux et de l’eau récupérée de mon toit. En fait je n’ai plus qu’un seul produit chimique pour protéger l’acier quand on le passe au four, et je veux le supprimer. Je vais faire un mélange d’oignon, d’urine et de suif de bois qu’on faisait dans le temps, et j’aurais des sonnettes 100% bio !

Thomas Devouassoud,
Fabricant de sonnettes

Découverte

De père en fils depuis 180 ans, les Devouassoud fabriquent les sonnettes, ces cloches forgées qui permettent aux bergers de reconnaître à distance leur troupeau sans erreur. Ici on forge un maillon de la tradition.

Faites résonner la tradition :

www.sonnettesdevouassoud.com

Thomas Devouassoud,
Fabricant de sonnettes

Découverte

Moi je ne fais pas vraiment de montagne, un peu de marche me suffit. Mais il faut reconnaître elle est quand même grandiose cette vallée ! Le Brévent c’est à faire absolument. Les drus aussi, ça j’aime vraiment.

Thomas Devouassoud,
Fabricant de sonnettes